Argentina History Timeline

Argentina History Timeline

According to AAAA, Argentina is a republic and the second largest country in South America. It borders the Atlantic Ocean to the east, Chile to the west, Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, and Brazil and Uruguay to the northeast. The coastline is 4,989 km.

Largest cities are (by population): Buenos Aires, Cordoba, Rosario, Mendoza, La Plata, Tucuman, Mar del Plata.

The country is divided into 23 provinces ( provincias, singular – provincia ) and one federal district ( distrito federal ): Buenos Aires, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Cordoba, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Formosa, Jujuy, La Pampa, La Rioja, Mendoza, Misiones, Neuquen, Rio Negro, Salta, San Juan, San Luis, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero, Tierra del Fuego – Antartida e Islas del Atlantico Sur og Tucuman; the autonomous b y is the federal capital of Buenos Aires.

The entire western border area is occupied by the Andes Mountains, which are the longest continental mountain range on Earth above sea level.

The highest mountain in the Andes is Aconcagua.

The highest volcano in the world, Ojos del Salado, is located on the border between Chile and Argentina, at an altitude of 6891 meters above sea level. The volcano is also the second highest mountain in the western hemisphere.

When democracy returned in 1983, the country has survived its share of economic, political and social problems, and today democracy is alive and well.


1438-1535 – Inkariget. It was the largest empire in South America before Columbus, and at its peak, one of the world’s largest communities.

1502 – Argentina was populated by several scattered groups of Indians when the Italian explorer Amerigo Vespucci arrived.

1516 – Juan Diaz de Solis is said to be the first European to search for gold. de Soli’s origin is disputed as there are various sources indicating him to originate from different places. He managed to name Rio de la Plata, and was soon captured by the Guarani people, who killed and ate him on January 20, 1516. Surviving crew members reported de Solís and most of the other men had been killed, and thus were the expedition stopped.

1536 – Buenos Aires is founded by the Spaniard Pedro de Mendoza, and is named Nuestra Señora Santa María del Buen Aire (Our Lady of the Holy Mary by the Good Wind). However, the city was abandoned again in 1541 and re-founded in 1580.

1680 -Portuguese trading post established.

1776 – Buenos Aires becomes the capital of the Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata.

1810 – Napoleon overthrew the king of Spain.

1812 – Jose de San Martin leads the struggle against Spain for independence.

1816 – Argentina’s independence is declared on July 9, by José de San Martin from the balcony of the Raw House at Plaza de Mayo. Argentina’s first fifteen years as an independent state were marked by violent conflicts both with neighboring countries and between Buenos Aires and the provinces.

1853 – Argentina is declared a republic.

1862-1868 – Bartolome Miter was president of the country.

1928 – The later Marxist revolutionary Ernesto “Che” Guevara is led in Rosario on 14 June. He participated in student demonstrations against President Juan Perón. He participated in the Cuban revolution and later became a minister in the Cuban government, which was formed after the revolution. He was captured and executed in Bolivia on October 9, 1967.

1936 – Volcano Ojos del Salado, first climbed by Jan Alfred Szczepański and Justyn Wojsznis, who participated in a Polish expedition to the Andes.

1943 – Juan Perón comes to power. He married Maria Eva Duarte, better known as Evita in 1945. In her fight for the poor, she became the country’s most powerful and talked about woman.

1952 – Evita is diagnosed with cancer and dies on July 26. Despite her death, she continued her struggle for the working class until she died, only 33 years old. Argentina was in national mourning.

1955 – A violent uprising in the country ends with the overthrow of Juan Perón in a military coup. He fled to Paraguay, later to Venezuela and the Dominican Republic.

1955-1973 – During this period, the country was a political mess with changing governments and military coups. A coup in 1971 trumped constitutional democracy. However, the election was not held until 1973. The Labor Party ran under a new name ( Frente Justicialista de Liberación ) with Hector Compora as the leading candidate. However, he was only intended for a temporary role because Perón was not allowed to perform himself. When Perón’s party regained power, they decided that Perón would like to stand for election and then call new elections. Perón won. His wife Isabel Perón became vice president. Perón died less than a year after he became president for the second time. On July 1, 1974, he collapsed from a cardiac arrest. Isabel Peron became the new president and continued a terrorist regime that lasted only 21 months.

1976 – Isabel Peron deposed by military coup and banished.

1982 – The Falklands War begins. It was an undeclared war between Argentina and Britain over the Falkland Islands. The fighting took place between April 2 and June 14, 1982.

1983 – The military government collapses; Raul Alfonsin elected President.

1984 – Peace treaty and friendship established between Chile and Argentina.

1993 – National constitution amended to allow presidential re-election.

1995 – The Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty enters into force.

1996 – The radical Fernando de la Rua first becomes the first elected mayor of Buenos Aires.

1998 – US President Bill Clinton, designate Argentina as a non- NATO -allieret.

1999-2001 – From December 10, 1999 to December 10, 2001, Fernando de la Rua was the President of the country. Rua had declared a state of economic emergency during the riots of December 2001, resigning on December 20, and Congress appointing a new president. de la Rue withdrew from politics after his resignation.

2000 – The IMF provides Argentina with a $ 40 billion aid package.

2005 – 34 nations in summit over violent protests against free trade and US President Bush.

2006 – Argentina repays multi-billion dollar debt to the IMF.

2009 – The government declares a state of emergency for the worst drought in decades.

Argentina History Timeline