Kansas Doniphan County Public Libraries

By | December 30, 2022

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Doniphan County, Kansas. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in Kansas Doniphan County.

  • Foodezine.com: Facts and neighboring states of Kansas with nickname as The Sunflower State.

Street Address: 410 N 9th, Elwood, KS 66024
Phone Number: (913) 365-2409 Doniphan N/A N/A

Street Address: Highland Senior Center, Main Street, Highland, KS 66035
Phone Number: (913) 442-5550 Doniphan N/A N/A

105 N. Main, Troy, KS 66087
Phone Number: (785) 985-2597 Doniphan 60,026 20,800

421 Main, Troy, KS 66087
Phone Number: (913) 985-2597 Doniphan N/A N/A

Street Address: 206 ST. Joseph, Wathena, KS 66090
Phone Number: (913) 989-4834 Doniphan N/A N/A

Street Address: White Cloud Post Office, White Cloud, KS 66094
Phone Number: (913) 595-3325 Doniphan N/A N/A

Overview of Doniphan County, Kansas

Doniphan County (standard abbreviation: DP) is a county in the State of Kansas, located in the northeastern corner of the state. It is bordered by Nebraska to the north and Missouri to the east. As of 2000, the population is 8,249. The county seat is Troy.


Doniphan County was established August 25, 1855 and organized on September 18, 1855. It is named for the U.S. cavalry commander Colonel Alexander W. Doniphan (1808-1887) of Liberty, Missouri, who played an important part in the Mexican-American War. He was a zealous partisan in the effort made to extend slavery into Kansas.

See also: Doniphan County history reprinted from William G. Cutler’s History of the State of Kansas (Chicago: A.T. Andreas, 1883).

Law and government

The county is served by a Board of County Commissioners composed of one elected official from each of three districts. The commissioners serve four-year terms with the 2nd and 3rd district elections following two years after the 1st district election. The Board is responsible for setting the county’s policies, procedures, and budgets as well as overseeing functions of their respective Road and Bridge Shops. The Board also acts as the Board of County Canvassers and canvass votes cast at each election. The county has adopted comprehensive county planning and zoning codes. The cities are governed by mayors and city councils. Government services are paid for through a sales tax, property tax, and ad valorem tax mill levy.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,028 km² (397 mi²). 1,016 km² (392 mi²) of it is land and 13 km² (5 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 1.23% water.

Geographic features

The Missouri River defines the border in the north and east. Eight barge lines travel the river, and a Port Authority is located across the river in St. Joseph, Missouri. The river provides much of the water for the eastern part of the county. Interior cities, such as Troy and Highland, receive their water from underground wells. The Wolf River flows through western portions of the county and north into the Missouri River.

Major highways

The only major highway serving the county is U.S. Highway 36, an east/west route traveling through St. Joseph. Troy, Elwood, and Wathena lie along this route. Kansas state highways K-7, K-20, K-120, K-137, and K-238 serve other areas of the county. K-7 has been designated a scenic byway. (See the map below.)

Adjacent counties

  • Holt County, Missouri (north)
  • Andrew County, Missouri (northeast)
  • Buchanan County, Missouri (southeast)
  • Atchison County, Kansas (southwest)
  • Brown County, Kansas (west)
  • Richardson County, Nebraska (northwest)


As of the census of 2000, there are 8,249 people, 3,173 households, and 2,183 families residing in the county. The population density is 8/km² (21/mi²). There are 3,489 housing units at an average density of 3/km² (9/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 94.85% White, 2.00% Black or African American, 1.21% Native American, 0.25% Asian, 0.00% Pacific Islander, 0.40% from other races, and 1.29% from two or more races. 1.16% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 3,173 households out of which 32.60% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 56.40% are married couples living together, 8.70% have a female householder with no husband present, and 31.20% are non-families. 27.60% of all households are made up of individuals and 14.20% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.48 and the average family size is 3.03.

In the county the population is spread out with 25.30% under the age of 18, 11.80% from 18 to 24, 24.70% from 25 to 44, 22.00% from 45 to 64, and 16.20% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 37 years. For every 100 females there are 98.60 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 96.20 males.

The median income for a household in the county is $32,537, and the median income for a family is $39,357. Males have a median income of $28,096 versus $19,721 for females. The per capita income for the county is $14,849. 11.90% of the population and 9.00% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total population, 13.30% of those under the age of 18 and 12.50% of those 65 and older are living below the poverty line.

Cities and towns

According to countryaah, Doniphan County, Kansas has the following cities and towns:

  • Denton
  • Elwood
  • Highland
  • Leona
  • Severance
  • Troy
  • Wathena
  • White Cloud

Unincorporated communities

  • Bendena
  • Blair
  • Brenner
  • Doniphan
  • Fanning
  • Iowa Point
  • Moray
  • Palermo
  • Purcell
  • Sparks

See also: List of cities in Kansas; List of extinct towns and post offices


  • Burr Oak Township
  • Center Township
  • Independence Township
  • Iowa Township
  • Marion Township
  • Union Township
  • Washington Township
  • Wayne Township
  • Wolf River Township

Map of Doniphan County Kansas