Kentucky Bourbon County Public Libraries

By | December 31, 2022

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Bourbon County, Kentucky. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in Kentucky Bourbon County.

Street Address: 701 High Street, Paris, KY 40361
Phone Number: (859) 987-4419 Bourbon 113,039 70,606

Street Address: 701 High Street, Paris, KY 40361
Phone Number: (859) 987-4419 Bourbon N/A N/A

Overview of Bourbon County, Kentucky

Bourbon County is a county located in the U.S. state of Kentucky. As of 2000, the population is 19,360. Its county seat is Paris, Kentucky. It is best known for being the birthplace of bourbon whiskey.


Bourbon County, Kentucky actually began as Bourbon County, Virginia in 1785, when it was created from Fayette County, Kentucky (previously also in Virginia). It comprised a much larger area than the present-day Bourbon County; the rest of its former territory is now divided between the following present-day Kentucky counties: Bracken, Boone, Campbell, Clark, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Greenup, Harrison, Kenton, Mason, Montgomery, Lewis, Nicholas, Pendleton, Powell, and Robertson.

Bourbon whiskey, named for the county, was first distilled within its borders by the Rev. Elijah Craig in the early 19th century. Formerly by US law, for a whiskey to call itself “Kentucky Bourbon whiskey” it must have been made within the original borders of Bourbon County from a grain mash of no less than 51% corn. Now however the geographic restriction has been eased (the various other qualifications must still be met); “Kentucky Bourbon whiskey” can now be made anywhere within the state of Kentucky. Indeed, there are not currently (as of 2005) any operating distilleries in the county, and the well-known Kentucky bourbons are distilled instead in Marion, Woodford, and Bullitt counties, among others. In addition, smaller amounts of bourbon whiskey are distilled in neighboring Indiana and Virginia.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 755 km² (292 mi²). 755 km² (291 mi²) of it is land and 1 km² (0 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 0.08% water.


As of the census of 2000, there are 19,360 people, 7,681 households, and 5,445 families residing in the county. The population density is 26/km² (66/mi²). There are 8,349 housing units at an average density of 11/km² (29/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 90.38% White, 6.94% Black or African American, 0.15% Native American, 0.14% Asian, 0.01% Pacific Islander, 1.36% from other races, and 1.02% from two or more races. 2.60% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 7,681 households out of which 32.80% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 54.70% are married couples living together, 12.30% have a female householder with no husband present, and 29.10% are non-families. 24.80% of all households are made up of individuals and 11.10% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.49 and the average family size is 2.95.

In the county the population is spread out with 25.00% under the age of 18, 8.10% from 18 to 24, 28.60% from 25 to 44, 24.70% from 45 to 64, and 13.60% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 38 years. For every 100 females there are 94.60 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 91.00 males.

The median income for a household in the county is $35,038, and the median income for a family is $42,294. Males have a median income of $30,989 versus $23,467 for females. The per capita income for the county is $18,335. 14.00% of the population and 12.30% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total population, 19.10% of those under the age of 18 and 11.90% of those 65 and older are living below the poverty line.

Cities and towns

According to countryaah, Bourbon County, Kentucky has the following cities and towns:

  • Millersburg
  • North Middletown
  • Paris

Map of Bourbon County Kentucky