Oregon Morrow County Public Libraries

By | January 1, 2023

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Morrow County, Oregon. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in Oregon Morrow County.

Street Address: 200 S Main, Boardman, OR 97818
Phone Number: (541) 481-3365 Morrow N/A N/A

Street Address: 444 Main St, Heppner, OR 97836
Phone Number: (541) 676-9964 Morrow N/A N/A

Street Address: 201 S. Main, Irrigon, OR 97844 N/A Morrow N/A N/A

200 S Main, Boardman, OR 97818
Phone Number: (541) 481-3365 Morrow 24,912 25,770

Overview of Morrow County, Oregon

Morrow County is a county located in the state of Oregon. The county was named for one of the first white settlers, Jackson L. Morrow, who was also member of the state legislature when the county was created. As of 2000, the population is 10,995. The county seat is located at Heppner.


The principal industries in the county today include agriculture, food processing, lumber, livestock, and recreation. A coal fired generating plant located in Boardman also employs a significant number of people.

Early cattlemen found an abundance of rye along the creek bottoms of the region and drove their herds into the area to forage on these natural pastures. Ranching was the primary economic force in the county for many years. Increased settlement, the enclosure of the free grazing lands and diminished pastures due to overgrazing, resulted in the decline of ranching during the 19th century, and farming became predominant. The completion of rail lines into the county in 1883 increased access to markets and encouraged wheat production in the area. The advent of technology for center pivot irrigation has been a further stimulus to the local economy.

The Morrow Port District, situated on the Columbia River near the town of Boardman, was established in 1958.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 5,306 km² (2,049 mi²). 5,264 km² (2,032 mi²) of it is land and 42 km² (16 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 0.79% water.


As of the census of 2000, there are 10,995 people, 3,776 households, and 2,918 families residing in the county. The population density is 2/km² (5/mi²). There are 4,276 housing units at an average density of 1/km² (2/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 76.27% White, 0.14% Black or African American, 1.42% Native American, 0.42% Asian, 0.08% Pacific Islander, 19.54% from other races, and 2.14% from two or more races. 24.43% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 3,776 households out of which 38.90% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 62.60% are married couples living together, 8.80% have a female householder with no husband present, and 22.70% are non-families. 18.10% of all households are made up of individuals and 7.40% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.90 and the average family size is 3.28.

In the county, the population is spread out with 30.80% under the age of 18, 8.90% from 18 to 24, 27.30% from 25 to 44, 22.40% from 45 to 64, and 10.60% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 33 years. For every 100 females there are 106.50 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 106.10 males.

The median income for a household in the county is $37,521, and the median income for a family is $40,731. Males have a median income of $32,328 versus $22,889 for females. The per capita income for the county is $15,802. 14.80% of the population and 11.30% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total population, 21.60% of those under the age of 18 and 10.10% of those 65 and older are living below the poverty line.


Morrow County was created on February 16, 1885 from the western portion of Umatilla County and a small portion of eastern Wasco County. Heppner was designated the temporary county seat at the time the county was created and narrowly defeated Lexington in the election held in 1886 to determine the permanent county seat.

Cities and towns

According to countryaah, Morrow County, Oregon has the following cities and towns:

  • Boardman
  • Heppner
  • Ione
  • Irrigon
  • Lexington