Slovenia Population, Politics and Economy

Slovenia Population, Politics and Economy

Population in Slovenia

Slightly over 2 million people live in Slovenia (2016). The average population density is 102 residents per km². 20% of the Austrian population lives in the greater Vienna area. The Slovenian population is not growing any further at the moment. The average age of Slovenian society is around 44 years. According to directoryaah, the population of Slovenia is made up of over 83% Slovenes and almost 2% Serbs, Croats and Bosnians. Small minorities in Slovenia are formed by Italians and Germans / Austrians. In addition to Slovenian, Italian and Hungarian are also spoken as regional official languages in ethnically mixed areas in Slovenia. In addition to the Antssprachen, German, Croatian and Serbian are spoken in different regions.

A total of 50 religious associations are registered in Slovenia, of which 46 only make up around five percent of the total population. The Roman Catholic Church is the largest religious community with an estimated 73% percent of the population. In addition to the Roman Catholic Church, the traditional religious communities are the Muslim communities with around 2.5% of the population, the Serbian and Macedonian Orthodox Church with around 2.3 percent, the Slovenian Evangelical Church Community with around 1 percent and one very small Jewish community with less than a hundred members. The remaining registered communities can be viewed as new religious movements.

Politics and economy in Slovenia

Slovenia is a parliamentary republic with parliamentary democracy as its system of government. The head of state of the Republic of Slovenia is the president, who has a predominantly representative function and is elected directly by the population every five years. As part of the executive power, he is supported by the Prime Minister and the Cabinet, both of which are elected by the State Assembly.

The Slovenian bicameral parliament consists of the State Assembly and the State Council. The State Assembly consists of 90 members, some of whom are elected by direct election or by proportional suffrage. The autonomous minorities of the Italians and Hungarians have a guaranteed ethnic group mandate. These ethnic group representatives have an absolute right of veto on issues that exclusively concern the respective rights of the minority.

Slovenia Politics

According to ebizdir, 40 members from social, economic and regional interest groups are sent to the State Council. Parliamentary elections take place every four years.

Slovenia has a mixed economy that is relatively balanced between agriculture, industry, services and tourism. Notable employers include the oil and energy company Petrol, the household goods manufacturer Gorenje, the pharmaceutical company Krka, the motorhome manufacturer Adria Mobil and the Revoz car plant in Novo mesto, a subsidiary of Renault. The per capita income of the Slovenes is in the middle of Europe.

Livestock is an important branch of Slovenian agriculture. It contributes more than 50 percent to production output. The proportion of meadow and pasture land and forage cultivation areas is correspondingly large. Viticulture takes up a relatively high proportion of the agricultural area. Around 40,000 private and professional winemakers are often in the fifth or sixth generation of viticulture.

Around 40 percent of the working population work in industry. The automotive industry has the largest share of Slovenia’s exports, at over 20 percent. In addition to this, the electrical and electronics industry, metal processing and mechanical engineering as well as the chemical and pharmaceutical industry are of great importance.

Since independence in 1991, the service sector has now provided 53 percent of jobs in Slovenia. Especially in the Julian Alps, in the Postojna Caves and on the coast of the Adriatic Sea, tourism is promoted with the appropriate infrastructure. For some years now, health tourism has also been gaining importance in the north-east of the country.

Transport network in Slovenia

The entire asphalt road network covered around 39,000 km in 2012. Slovenia has a good infrastructure with a modern motorway network. The two longest motorways in Slovenia are the A1, which runs in a northeast-southwest direction from Maribor to Ljubljana and on to Koper, and the A2, which also leads in a northwest-southeast direction from the Karawanken tunnel via Ljubljana to the Croatian border towards Zagreb. The motorways are toll roads in Slovenia. The connected centers are the capital Ljubljana and Maribor. The tourism and ski areas in the Julian Alps and on the short Adriatic coast are also well integrated.

The Slovenian state railways Slovenske železnice operate an extensive route network with a length of 1229 km, which connects many Slovenian cities with each other, including the important connection to the Koper seaport. International connections to Italy, Austria, Serbia and Hungary are also regularly on the timetable. Therefore, a trip through Slovenia can easily be carried out by public transport. The route of the Wocheinerbahn, which used to be an important link between Vienna and Trieste, but is now mainly used for local traffic, is particularly scenic.

The largest international airport is located at Brnik near the capital Ljubljana. There are also two smaller airports, Maribor and Portorož.

With the port of Koper, Slovenia has overseas trade connections all over the world and is a transit country for goods to Central Europe. However, the larger rivers are hardly navigable.

Cities and regions in Slovenia

Slovenia is divided into 212 municipalities, including eleven municipalities. More important for tourism is a breakdown into five historical landscapes, which are not only common as area names, but are still part of the regional identity to this day. In the Slovenian Styria in particular, there is a strong identification with a Slovenian Styrian demarcation from the capital Ljubljana. The historical landscapes are the Slovenian coastal region (Primorska), Slovenian Istria, Kranjska (part of the former crown land Carniola), Koroška (part of the former crown land Slovenian Carinthia), Štajerska (part of the former crown land Styria / Lower Styria) and Prekmurje (Übermurje).

The capital and largest city of the country is the centrally located Ljubljana (German Laibach) with just under 285,000 residents. Other important cities are Maribor, Celje, Kranj, Koper and Velenje.