South Dakota Beadle County Public Libraries

By | January 1, 2023

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Beadle County, South Dakota. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in South Dakota Beadle County.

Street Address: 521 Dakota Ave South, Huron, SD 57350
Phone Number: (605) 353-8530 Beadle 130,392 96,733

Street Address: 521 Dakota Ave South, Huron, SD 57350
Phone Number: (605) 352-3778 Beadle N/A N/A

Street Address: 240 Wessington St, Wessington, SD 57381
Phone Number: (605) 458-2596 Beadle N/A N/A

Street Address: 240 Wessington St / Po Box 108, Wessington, SD 57381
Phone Number: (605) 458-2596 Beadle N/A N/A

Overview of Beadle County, South Dakota

Beadle County is a county located in the state of South Dakota. As of 2000, the population is 17,023. Its county seat is Huron.


Beadle County, named in honor of Brig. General William Henry Harrison Beadle, was created by the South Dakota legislature in 1879 and formally organized in 1880 with the appointment of three county commissioners by Gov. Nehemiah Ordway. The first town within Beadle County was Cavour, but Huron was named the county seat when the county commissioners first met there in July 1880.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,276 km² (1,265 mi²). 3,260 km² (1,259 mi²) of it is land and 16 km² (6 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 0.48% water.


The county is divided into thirty-five townships: Allen, Altoona, Banner, Barrett, Belle Prairie, Bonilla, Broadland, Burr Oak, Carlyle, Cavour, Clifton, Clyde, Custer, Dearborn, Fairfield, Foster, Grant, Hartland, Iowa, Kellogg, Lake Byron, Liberty, Logan, Milford, Nance, Pearl Creek, Pleasant View, Richland, Sand Creek, Theresa, Valley, Vernon, Wessington, Whiteside, Wolsey.

Adjacent Counties

  • Spink County, South Dakota- north
  • Clark County, South Dakota- northeast
  • Kingsbury County, South Dakota- east
  • Sanborn County, South Dakota- southeast
  • Jerauld County, South Dakota- southwest
  • Hand County, South Dakota- west


Beadle County
Population by year
1900 – 8,081
1910 – 15,776
1920 – 19,273
1930 – 22,917
1940 – 19,648
1950 – 21,082
1960 – 21,682
1970 – 20,877
1980 – 19,195
1990 – 18,253
2000 – 17,023

As of the census of 2000, there are 17,023 people, 7,210 households, and 4,535 families residing in the county. The population density is 5/km² (14/mi²). There are 8,206 housing units at an average density of 3/km² (6/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 96.93% White, 0.69% Black or African American, 0.95% Native American, 0.31% Asian, 0.02% Pacific Islander, 0.26% from other races, and 0.85% from two or more races. 0.91% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 7,210 households out of which 28.30% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 52.50% are married couples living together, 7.40% have a female householder with no husband present, and 37.10% are non-families. 33.10% of all households are made up of individuals and 15.00% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.30 and the average family size is 2.94.

In the county, the population is spread out with 24.70% under the age of 18, 8.30% from 18 to 24, 24.70% from 25 to 44, 23.00% from 45 to 64, and 19.40% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 40 years. For every 100 females there are 96.60 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 93.70 males.

Cities and towns

According to countryaah, Beadle County, South Dakota has the following cities and towns:

  • Broadland
  • Cavour
  • Hitchcock
  • Huron
  • Iroquois
  • Virgil
  • Wessington
  • Wolsey
  • Yale