Virginia Augusta County Public Libraries

By | January 1, 2023

We are providing a comprehensive directory of public libraries in Augusta County, Virginia. This list includes library formal name, street address, postal code, phone number and how many books are available. Check the following list to see all public libraries in Virginia Augusta County.

Street Address: 1759 Jefferson HWY., Fishersville, VA 22939
Phone Number: (540) 949-6354 Augusta 470,468 335,460

Street Address: 1759 Jefferson HWY., Fishersville, VA 22939
Phone Number: (540) 949-6354 Augusta N/A N/A

1759 Jefferson HWY., Fishersville, VA 22939
Phone Number: (504) 487-9547 Augusta N/A N/A

Street Address: 3714 Churchville AVE., Churchville, VA 24421
Phone Number: (540) 245-5287 Augusta N/A N/A

Overview of Augusta County, Virginia

Augusta County is a county located in the state of Virginia. As of 2000, the population is 65,615. Its county seat is Staunton.


The county was formed in 1738 from Orange County, although county government was not organized until 1745. It was named for Augusta of Saxe-Gotha, Princess of Wales and mother of the future King George III of the United Kingdom.

Originally, Augusta County was a vast territory with an indefinite western boundary. Reductions in its extent began in 1770, when its southern part became Botetourt County. In 1776 part of western Augusta County became Monongalia County, Ohio County, and Yohogania County (abolished in 1786). In 1778 the part of Augusta County west of the Ohio River became Illinois County (abolished in 1784); the northeastern part of what was left became Rockingham County, and the southwestern part was combined with part of Botetourt County to form Rockbridge County. In 1788 the northern part of the still shrinking county was combined with part of Hardy County to become Pendleton County. Augusta County assumed its present dimensions in 1790, when its western part was combined with parts of Botetourt County and Greenbrier County to form Bath County.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,515 km² (971 mi²), making it the second largest in Virginia. 2,513 km² (970 mi²) of it is land and 1 km² (1 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 0.06% water.


The county is divided into seven magisterial districts: Beverley Manor, Middle River, North River, Pastures, Riverheads, South River, and Wayne.

Adjacent Counties

  • Pendleton County, West Virginia- north
  • Rockingham County, Virginia- northeast
  • Albemarle County, Virginia- east
  • Nelson County, Virginia- southeast
  • Rockbridge County, Virginia- southwest
  • Bath County, Virginia- west
  • Highland County, Virginia- northwest

In addition, two cities are enclaved within the county:

  • Staunton
  • Waynesboro

Under Virginia law in effect since 1871, all municipalities in the state incorporated as cities are legally and politically independent of counties.


As of the census of 2000, there are 65,615 people, 24,818 households, and 18,911 families residing in the county. The population density is 26/km² (68/mi²). There are 26,738 housing units at an average density of 11/km² (28/mi²). The racial makeup of the county is 95.02% White, 3.60% Black or African American, 0.15% Native American, 0.28% Asian, 0.02% Pacific Islander, 0.32% from other races, and 0.61% from two or more races. 0.94% of the population are Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There are 24,818 households out of which 33.00% have children under the age of 18 living with them, 63.70% are married couples living together, 8.60% have a female householder with no husband present, and 23.80% are non-families. 20.10% of all households are made up of individuals and 8.10% have someone living alone who is 65 years of age or older. The average household size is 2.56 and the average family size is 2.94.

In the county, the population is spread out with 23.70% under the age of 18, 6.90% from 18 to 24, 29.80% from 25 to 44, 26.80% from 45 to 64, and 12.80% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 39 years. For every 100 females there are 101.10 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 99.80 males.

The median income for a household in the county is $43,045, and the median income for a family is $48,579. Males have a median income of $31,577 versus $24,233 for females. The per capita income for the county is $19,744. 5.80% of the population and 4.20% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total population, 6.40% of those under the age of 18 and 6.60% of those 65 and older are living below the poverty line.


  • Craigsville
  • Crimora
  • Dooms
  • Fishersville
  • Greenville
  • Grottoes
  • Jolivue
  • Lyndhurst
  • Sherando
  • Stuarts Draft
  • Verona
  • Weyers Cave

The independent cities of Staunton and Waynesboro (incorporated as such in 1871 and 1948 respectively) are located within the boundaries of Augusta County, but are not a part of the county, despite Staunton’s status as the county seat.